Kiwi and Almond Breakfast Muffins

IMG_9763-2

I absolutely adore kiwis, and living in Australia, kiwis are in season for much of the year. So after scouring my fridge and discovering a couple of the fruit I decided to put them to good use and make a yummy breakfast muffin out of them! After making this decision, I hastily ran to my laptop to research recipes, which unfortunately did not turn up a whole lot of results. Why, I asked myself, is no one utilising the natural sweetness of these green super fruits by baking with them? So I grabbed my go-to muffin recipe and made some significant changes. After a couple of attempts, I’m very pleased to present you with these absolutely delicious Kiwi and Almond Breakfast muffins!

Although it would of been easier to follow one of the recipes for kiwi muffins I did come across, I decided to develop my own recipe for a number of reasons, the first of which is that a majority of recipes out there call for butter/margarine. I’m personally not a big fan of butter in fruit-infused muffins, and I tend to reserve using it for when I bake cake/cupcakes instead. Another reason (which is completely shallow) is the colour. Most of the muffins pictured took on the kiwis green hue. I’m sure the muffins were perfectly tasty, but that green colouring is not the most appetising colour in the world. The final reason was my inability to locate any recipes for kiwi muffins that including almonds, which I had to put an end to there and then!

This recipe makes 8/9 standard sized muffins, or 11/12 mini muffins. If you are after large, cafe style muffins, I’d estimate it would make 6. The muffins it does produce, are absolutely delicious. The sweetness of the kiwi (and optional vanilla essence) contrasts fantastically with the faint taste of cinnamon, while the crunch of the almond provides some much needed texture to these soft and moist muffins. I know I have talked these muffins up a fair amount, so on to the recipe so you can try them for yourselves!

Kiwi and Almond Breakfast Muffins

KiwiAlmondMuffins

Baking Time: 17-22 minutes
Makes: 8/9 Medium Muffins, 12 Mini Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/2 cups of all purpose (plain) flour
  • 1/2 cup of white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/3 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 1/8-1/4 cup of brown sugar (for dusting, optional)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence (optional)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups of diced kiwi (approx. 4 kiwis)
  • 1/2 cup of chopped or flaked almonds

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 200C (or 400F) and then line muffin tray with liners or muffin cups.

In a large bowl, combine white sugar, salt, baking powder, flour and cinnamon. Then, add the vegetable oil, egg, milk and vanilla essence and stir until well combined. Gradually fold in the diced kiwi and chopped almonds, leaving a smattering of almonds to add to the top of each muffin. Pour mixture into pre prepared muffin liners before sprinkling brown sugar and the remainder of the almonds on the top of each muffin.

Bake for 17-22 minutes or until golden brown. Let muffins cool before eating to allow fruit time to hold its shape.

KiwiMuffinsMaking

Please get in touch if you do make these muffins (either through email or the comments below) letting me know how you got on, and if you made any alterations. Happy baking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

